Seeing the World + Bad News

That’s what I want to do. My little corner of the world is…cultureless, if that’s at all possible. I want to travel, to meet people, to really experience different lifestyles, rather than just being a tourist. I’m studying French and Spanish right now, and I’m taking up German and Latin next year. I travel with my parents a lot. We’ve been to St. Maarten/St. Martin (depends on which side of the island), St. Thomas, the Bahamas, and that’s basically it. I live close to the Canadian border, so I’ve been there a lot, too. But we’ve always gone as tourists, never as travelers. Some of my friends who are taking German right now have the opportunity to go to Germany for a few weeks this summer, and I’m so jealous. My brother could study abroad in England, New Zealand, Australia, and tons of other places. But he won’t, when I would kill for that kind of opportunity. He’s comfortable here. I’m not. I’m going stir-crazy here in this average suburb. “The suburbs have no charms to soothe the restless dreams of youth,” as Rush said in Subdivisions. Truer words have never been spoken. I need to get out, but I can’t. Not for another 3 years, at least. But when I leave, I’m going to New York City. I know what you’re thinking. “High taxes, high housing rates, crime everywhere, 4th most miserable city in the U.S.” I know all of that. But NYC is a city where everything happens. There’s never boredom, never quiet, never dullness. Not to mention, it’s one of the biggest cultural mixing pots (not to mention artistic centers) in the country. I need that life, that energy. And I’ll travel. Anywhere and everywhere.

Terry Pratchett, one of my favorite authors, has been diagnosed with Alzheimer’s.  It was back in December, and I just heard about it today.  It sucks.  He’s one of the greatest minds of this era, and his mind is being eaten by disease.  If anyone can find a way to contact him, tell me.  Send him your love and support, and then go out and read his books.  You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

