Underestimating People

I can’t understand it.  Until you know someone or learn their limits, you shouldn’t underestimate anyone, regardless of age, sex, race or anything.  I’m talking mostly about the age one here, since that’s the one I’ve experienced most.  Yes, I know we haven’t dealt with the “real world” yet.  So what?  It doesn’t mean we’re worthless.  We can pay attention to the news, we can learn, we can have opinions.  And yet, some adults seem to think otherwise.  For example, I haven’t had to pay taxes yet.  But for some reason, my parents don’t think I understand how much it sucks.  I do.  I listen to them, I hear people talk about it.  I’ve heard enough to know what it’s like.  Or, I’ve had people read my writing and say “I never thought someone so young could write with such a vocabulary!”  Well, maybe it’s because they never give them a chance.  You can’t judge all of our skills by some of our skills.  I know, the chain is only as strong as its weakest link, but here’s one scenario where it doesn’t apply.  In this, we are all our own chains.  Yes, we’re young.  Yes, we have talents.  Get used to it.

2 Responses

  1. Wow. You hit the nail right on the head there. I’ve had many a situation occur as you’ve described. I don’t think there is another way around it, however…there’s just way too many minds you’d need to change.

  2. i agree

Leave a Reply

