Another Philosophical Tangent

Oh my, here I go again.  I was checking James Owen’s blog today.  http://coppervale.livejournal.com/  Why?  Because I’m an Internet addict, but that’s a tale for another post.  I see he’d made another memorable post yesterday.  I’ll paste it in here:

“There’s a metaphor that I’ve assembled (in bits and pieces) from several friends and mentors, which I call The Synchronicity Freeway.

The Synchronicity Freeway is very, very central to my life, and how I live it.

Things happen the way they are supposed to, guided (or driven, or whatever word fits here for you – many do), and it’s not our job to try to work out every little detail along the way – because we can’t see everything. Not even a fraction of everything.

A mentor once described his version of the SF as riding in a car that he had no control over. He didn’t control the speed, the direction, or the destination. His job, he said, was just to keep the windshield clear.

Inspiration; spirit; the universe; God; whatever you want to call it, I believe there is something greater than us that we can tune into as we move through our lives. And it can be done (sometimes) as well by not focusing or pressing for a solution or direction or stability of any kind – but by simply being receptive. By accepting, calmly, even subconsciously, that something more appropriate is in the offing.

By, basically, keeping the windshield clear.

I’ve had as many positive things in my life happen by NOT doing things as by actively seeking them; and more by NOT struggling against the bad things that have happened – but instead letting them flow over me, confident in the fact that The Synchronicity Freeway moves as it moves, and I’ll see what I need to see. As long as I keep the windshield clear.”

I’ve never thought of it that way, but it makes sense.  Just keep looking forward and keep a vigilant eye and things won’t catch you by surprise.  Too often, we let ourselves get distracted, or we spend too much time looking back at the past.  I know I’m particularly susceptible to the latter.  Maybe it’s time to just face things as they come.

Leave a Reply

